Sean Oliver, formerly ‘Uncle Sean’ of Uncle Sean and the Shifty Drifters, abandons moniker with August 2018 LP release of Songs Left to Sing (Independent). The album bridges his traditional americana vocals with contemporary folk-rock instrumentation to create the modern honky tonk sound that has become his signature.

Duncan Warwick of Country Music People UK says “This album reminded me of the kind of records released on Bloodshot ten years ago when ‘Alternative Country’ really meant something.”

  • Sean Oliver – vocals, guitar
  • KJ Thomas – vocals, uke
  • Steve Donnelly – bass
  • Jim McDowell – piano
  • Andrew Rasta – steel guitar
  • Andre Ferraton – drums

Growing up, once-rapper Nepean kid Matty ‘Graven’ McKechnie was a massive teen listener of J Mascis (Dinosaur Jr.), Stephen Malkmus (Pavement), Bruce Springsteen, Led Zeppelin, Joni Mitchell, Anne Murray and old school hip-hop. Having played in suburban garage bands since his mid-teens, he began to adapt and progress with the shifting musical terrain around him while still staying true to his idyllic influences.

Graven’s songs are truly atmospheric, raw, passionate, personal and rare – and with a wild, rotating and circus-like band of hyper-talented individuals supporting and accenting him, his music generates interest and intensity. His 2017 album ‘Jaybird’ released three singles (All Roads, Big Lake Sky Summer, In The Woods Of Me) that all received repeated radioplay on CBC, CKCU, CHUO, CKDJ and Live 88.5 FM. His latest single ‘Hymnal’ was produced and engineered by Jim Bryson and has received play on CBC Radio One and made four different ‘Best Of 2018’ lists on CKCU FM.

  • Matty McKechnie – acoustic guitar, vocals
  • Gideon Yellin – atmospheric electric guitar
  • Landon Kotchapaw – bass
  • Rehuel Ernest – drums
  • Shawn Brown – pedal steel

Jumpin’ Joel Flash & The Magic Machine is an Ottawa-based, 8-piece powerhouse of fun. This indie folk rock/musical theatre outfit is a sweet mix of folk and southern twang featuring opera-rock vocals, bouncy rhythms, big happy harmonies, and the occasional rain stick interlude. We create surprisingly hummable, temptingly strummable original tunes composed and performed in a manner that it is certain to make you smile. Our on-stage antics and comedy bits will make you laugh. Our lyrics will make your heart skip a beat. Our finale will make you a lifetime fan.

  • Joel Elliott – Acoustic Guitar, Lead Vocals, Facial Expressions
  • Zoe Elizabeth + Robin Hodge – THE GHOST LIGHTS – Backing Vocals & Mischief
  • Brad Cutler – Electric Guitar & Sex Appeal
  • Kim Valentine – Ukelele & Gingerness
  • Ashley Newall – Bass Face
  • Jim McDowell – Keys Tactician
  • Jasen Colson – Drum Smacker

The Ottawa‐based synth/dream pop project began as a duo comprising songwriter/producer, Bernard Frazer and pop songstress, Felicity DeCarle. Their debut EP, Primitive Creatures (released February 2017), built a worldwide audience, from Japan and the UK to Mexico and Canada. The album drove to number one on radio charts in cities across Canada, and it finished the year on a host of Top Album lists of 2017.

  • Bernard Frazer – synthesizers, programming, backing vocals
  • Allison Stanton – Lead vocals, backing vocals, hand percussion
  • Tara Hope – Lead vocals, backing vocals, hand percussion

What happens when a talented folk duo from Ontario invite a classically trained violinist/front woman, and a rock influenced rhythm section to play music together?

RedFox is a five piece indie-folk band based in Montreal, Quebec. When the trio of Daphnee Vandal, Jono Townsend, and Tim Loten first met in September of 2017 they rehearsed as an acoustic folk and bluegrass band. After months of honing their sound, and the addition of hard rock drummer Sam Neumann as well as bassist Sam Robinson, their sound has been transformed into the epic high energy indie experience that it is. An ensemble lead by Daphnee Vandal’s dynamic voice backed by bass, drums, guitar, fiddle, and banjo, RedFox retains their acoustic roots origins, while exploring more electric sounds.

The groups can trace their influences back to bands such as Punch Brothers, Mumford & Sons and Paramore.

  • Daphnée Vandal  – Vocals/Violin
  • Jono Townsend – Guitar
  • Tim Loten -Banjo
  • Samuel Neumann – Drums
  • Sam Robinson – Bass

She Wears Black is a post-punk band from Toronto. SWB makes dreamy melancholic soundscape music akin to bands like This Mortal Coil and the Cure. We keep a safe distance from imitating our influences by synthesizing them to create our own distinctive sound.

Taking inspiration from visual arts that depict the darker side of the human psyche, SWB provides the perfect soundtrack for simply existing. Unlike more commercial music that invites one to escape from life, our music encourages the listener to reflect on life; to sit in contemplation of the dark, shadowy corners and to find beauty there; to transcend pain and discomfort by facing it directly and honestly.

  • Iga – vox/violin
  • Jacqueline – keys/vox/drums
  • pdb – guitar
  • Sasha – bass

DJ Elorious Cain

A survivor of the 1970’s disco boom, Elorious Cain has a reputation of spinning an uncommon variety of new genres with ease. According to Jennifer Hartley in Ottawa Life Magazine “Cain is the eclectic and effervescent DJ who has trained some of the world’s most renowned DJs but who himself thankfully refuses to take his groove away from the Capital”.  His show “The Groove” is often called “CKCU’s flagship disco show”.  It remains as much a current source of discotheque music as it has for the last 38 years.